Good Reads, First Reads

After I decided I would make a reading goal for 2016, I began adding books to my To-Read shelf on Goodreads. The shelf already contained 194 books that I had added between joining in 2012 and early 2015, but I knew most of the books I owned, and had yet to read, were not on that shelf. I set out to remedy that, plus add newer books I’d heard of and suggestions from friends and family.

My To-Read shelf now sits at an uncomfortable 550 books. I say uncomfortable because approximately half of those books I own and have yet to read. It makes me feel somewhat guilty to know that they are there, just waiting for me to read them. Makes me feel like I’ve been neglecting them.

So, my goal this year is for the majority of the books I read to be the ones on my actual bookshelf. Of course I will add in some from my virtual shelf, especially a series my friend, who has her own blog, suggested, the Barker and Llewelyn series by Will Thomas. I read the first book, Some Danger Involved, in December and tore through it. I was hooked and wanted to read more. I decided that I would space out the rest of the series, so I didn’t grow bored or become trapped by this one series. I’ve added the second book to my list of January Reads.

Speaking of my January Reads, they are:

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
  2. To Kingdom Come by Will Thomas
  3. Before I Say Good-Bye by Mary Higgins Clark
  4. A Soul to Take by C.N. Bean
  5. Detective by Arthur Hailey
  6. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  7. The Regulators by Richard Bachman (Stephen King)
JanReads.jpg
January Reads, photo by me
Leave a Reply

