Peculiar books

missperegrine_334x518
Source: RansomRiggs.com

I finished my first book today, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, and I have to say it is a peculiar book. My first thoughts of this book were “it had better live up to the hype, or I’ll be sorely disappointed”. Then, I began reading it and found that it was entertaining but similar to most of the young-adult fictions I’ve read in the past.

I enjoyed the beginning chapters of the book, they had a good flow, very interesting pictures, and I could relate to the main character, Jacob. However, the middle of the book, where Jacob finds the aforementioned home for peculiar children, felt weird to me. Maybe I just don’t have the imagination I had as a young-adult, but I contemplated putting the book down and finding a new one. I eventually decided to continue reading, to give the book a chance.

In the end, I wasn’t quite happy with where it leaves off, but I did come to like the book. It’s as peculiar as the children alluded to in the title. I’m unsure if I will ever buy this book, place it on the coveted space of my bookshelves, but I will reserve that judgement for after I read the next book in the series.

Next up for reading: To Kingdom Come by Will Thomas. The second installment of the Barker and Llewelyn series. I will hopefully pick it up at the library tomorrow, and if it’s anything like the first book, I will likely have it finished by Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

